top of page

Dolphin on Top at Tiverton

A team of 30 swimmers from the Development, National, Junior and Senior Squads were in Devon last Saturday for the Tiverton Sparkler Open Meet, all hoping to bag some early season personal bests and county qualifying times.

Six Dolphin swimmers completed the meet with a 100% personal best hit rate with Craig Harris leading the pack with 7, Laura Brown (6), Sophie Brooker (5), Holly Parsons (4), Natalie Evans (3) and Neave Root (2).  Harris also won medals in every event entered with four gold, two silver and one bronze.  Leading the Dolphin medal haul, however, was Ashlee Cox with a magnificent five gold and one silver.  Other medallists were Ben Clark (three gold), Jack Patey (two gold, one silver, one bronze), Joanna Farley (one gold, one silver, four bronze), Ben Sarachi (one gold, one silver, one bronze), Emma Adams (one gold), Holly Parsons (two silver, one bronze), Lucy Wright (two silver, one bronze), Rebecca Matthews (two silver), Charlotte Brooker (one silver) and Kelsea Jefferies (one silver).

The majority of swims broke through the county barrier, with 21 new qualifying times recorded.  Going under the county time in all their events were Ashlee Cox, Ben Clark, Jack Patey, Rebecca Matthews and Joanna Farley, and with Matthews coming within a few percent of her regional times on three swims she could surely be Millfield bound next June.  Holly Parsons and Gemma Lucas also came close to the mark and a bit more work in the training pool could also see them earn their regional colours in the New Year.


Rebecca Matthews

Four age group meet records were broken; two by Joanna Farley (200m and 50m freestyle), one by Ben Sarachi (200m freestyle) and one by Holly Parsons (50m breaststroke).  In the overall Top Swimmer awards, Craig Harris finished a creditable third, and to round off a full and busy day of swimming, Swindon Dolphin were also deservedly awarded the Top Team trophy, presented to Ashlee Cox and Jon Fouracre by Tiverton Club Coach Steve Carder and Chair, Lynne Callahan.

Full results are on the Competition Page.


Featured Posts
bottom of page