top of page

Dolphin Open Season with Comfortable Victory

Event: Bristol and West Water Polo League Division 1 Teams: Welsh Wanderers II v Swindon Dolphin Venue: Cardiff International Pool Date: 10th March 2011

Swindon Dolphin started their 2011 league campaign with a convincing victory against Welsh Wanderers second team.

Swindon travelled with a squad of nine players weakened only by the absence Mark Lawlor.  A tough game was expected, but all players were confident they could come away with a result despite the opposition having current Welsh number 1 Tim Marshall in goal.

The fixture was a close run affair during the first two periods but Dolphin gradually opened up a lead after initially going behind due to some confusion in defence.  The first period finished with Dolphin holding the lead by six goals to two although the welsh team battled hard in the second period and managed to reduce their deficit by one.  Dolphin picked up the pace in the third period and started to show some of the pre-season form that had seen them undefeated in 2011.  Both final periods were won by four clear goals resulting in a final winning margin of eleven.

Goals were spread throughout the team with the majority of players hitting the target.  Contributions came from Matt James (7), Trzeciak (5), Chris Selby and Andy Hicks (3), David Quinlivan and Rob Green (2).

Ian Brewer said after the match “We started the match really well which was pleasing.  We controlled the game for long periods and their only chances really came from counter attacks.  We were really pleased to maintain the form we have showed in pre-season.  We are a lot more mobile as a team this year, this has been helped massively by the return of Rob Green.  The swims we are now making are making a lot more room and subsequently opportunities that we are currently taking.  Let’s hope we can continue and maintain this form in our next match v Exeter away on Tuesday.”

Result:  Welsh Wanderers II 11 – 22 Swindon Dolphin

Team: Andy Watts, David Quinlivan (2 goals, 2 majors), Chris Selby (3 goal, 1 major), Andy Hicks (3 goals, 1 major), Will Smith, Rob Green (2 goals, 1 major), Ian Brewer (1 major), Matt James (7 goals), Michal Trzeciak (5 goals).


Featured Posts
bottom of page