top of page

Sx3 B Team are Division 3 Champions

Last weekend saw the culmination of this year’s Western Division National Swimming League with the third and final round of competition. Sx3 B Team, having won their first two rounds by significant margins were favourites in their third division gala at Weston-super-Mare with the A Team seeded sixth in the Premier Division final appearing at Cardiff International Pool.

The A Team knew they were in for a tough afternoon of racing, being up against the might of Plymouth Leander and Millfield. Although having to settle for middle to lower placings in the majority of events, there were well deserved first places from Chris Jones (100m Brs) and the boys 11/U medley relay team of Jack Janicki, Niall Westman, Noah Kirby and Tom Codling.   JanickiWestman and Kirby also produced some fine individual swims picking up two second places and a third.  The boys open team of Jon Audis, Nigel Masters, Dean Williamson, Alex Jones and Andi Manley managed third places in both their relay events with Audis also finishing third in his individual 100m Bks.  Liam Herbert also swam a fine 100m Bks in the boys 15/U to finish a creditable third.

The B Team found the going a little tougher than their previous encounters, coming up against unknown Bournemouth B and Oddicombe who also went into the final undefeated. Girl’s Captain, Kath Baker, got the team off to a good start with a convincing win in the girls 100m IM, the first of the squad’s 11 individual and seven relay wins in the 50 event gala.   Baker’s counterpart, Boys Captain Aaron Lee also led by example winning by a huge margin in the boys open 100m Bks.   Top performer in individual events was Joe Kerslake with wins in the 15/U 100m Fly and 100m Brs with Alex Eburne, Charlotte Pitts, Jack Spooner, Kyle Gaskin, Liam Jefferies, Stacey Wood and Vicotria Jennings each picking up one victory each.   With a clear spread of talent throughout the age groups, Swindon led the gala from the outset with rank outsiders Bridgewater sneaking a second place from Bournemouth Dolphin B in third.  The title of Western Division 3 Champions promotes Sx3 to Division 2 next season.

Final points:

Premier Division – Plymouth Leander A – 443, Millfield A – 358, Bournemouth Dolphins A – 355, City of Cardiff A – 305, Taunton Deane – 254, Swindon Swim Squad A – 242, Exeter City – 242, West Wilts Force 5 A – 238, Ferndown Otters – 194, Chard – 119

Division 3 – Swindon Swim Squad B – 323, Bridgewater – 266, Bournemouth Dolphins B – 260, Oddicombe – 208, Tavistock – 203, Wells and Shepton Mallet – 203, Carms B – 167, Torfaen B – 163


Featured Posts
bottom of page